One week down, tons more to go!

It’s been just over a week since I turned 30 and so far, it’s been a great year!  After having a fantastic birthday celebration–co workers bringing cake and goodies to work, my 1.5 hr massage (heavenly), dinner with Grant while my parents baby sat (this too, was heavenly), a bottle of champagne sent to our table from Kristin and Athena (It made me cry. I miss you!! ), then a surprise get-together with friends for cocktails.  It was great!  And not just because I was a little hammered, but because I got to spend my birthday with people that mean so much to me. 

Sunday was Donovan’s birthday party.  We didn’t go too crazy on the decorations–after all, he is just 1–but I got some basics: balloons, noise makers (which he LOVES), a “happy birthday” banner, and then decided to show some of my favorite photos from this past year. 

Those of you who know me, know I am NOT crafty at all.  I’m sure Amber would have done a much better job at showcasing these photos than I would, but hey, I did the best I could.  I took pictures I got printed at Costco and arranged them on canvas (that I had lying around for another project I have yet to complete) and attached them via staples and tape (janky, I know).  But it all stayed together and served its purpose for the party. 

Looking back at some of these photos, I can’t believe how much he has changed in just 12 months!

My baby.  No longer a baby. 

Well, to me, he will always be my baby.

The party itself was a success.  Guests came right on time, we had some socializing, Donovan opened presents, and then came the big finale—

Banana cake with chocolate frosting?  Don’t mind if I do!

This might be the last time this kid gets this much sugar in one sitting.  Dude was up partying until 10:00 pm!

Partying in his birthday suit.  On his birthday.

Perfect.

And ever since he turned one, he’s decided he can do EVERYTHING.  He feeds himself–

He’s walking everywhere.  Watching him turn around is hilarious.  The kid pivots on a dime!  And now that he’s one, his dad decided it was a good time to teach him to clear his plate. By licking it.  And apparently the faster you do it, the funnier it is!

Yup.  Dirty 30.  So far, so good!

