Today I’m 30. 

Wow.

It’s funny–even though it’s a big year/momentous occasion/the start of a new decade to celebrate, all I can think about is my life at this time last year.  I was at full term with Donovan (then known as Jebediah), and was in the final preparations of welcoming our first baby. 

I posted this exactly one year ago today, not knowing that evening would be the beginning of a 32 hr labor, resulting in a c-section, and the start of a wonderfully rewarding journey with the best baby known to mankind.

Best baby known to mankind? 

Yup.  

And maybe because Sunday is Donovan’s first birthday (a big year/momentous occasion as well), I’ve been reflecting more on his life than my own.  He has only been a part of our lives for 12 months (externally, that is).  That’s not very long in the grand scheme of things and he has changed so much in that short amount of time.  Should I take more time to reflect on myself?  Most definitely.  I have an hour and a half massage this evening (a gift from Grant, thank you very much!) so if I don’t fall asleep, I’ll be sure to take that time for reflection.

The best birthday gift this year so far? A wonderful surprise.  A week or two ago, my dad decided he would come out to visit for Donovan’s first birthday party.  I have to admit, I was totally surprised he wanted to fly all the way out here for a long weekend just to celebrate with us, but I was happy to be able to see him nonetheless. Grant volunteered to pick him up from the airport and when they got home, I was helping them with their coats and starting to get settled when the doorbell rang.  I answered it and there was my mom!  My dad bought her a ticket!  I was so surprised and all I could keep saying was, “what are you doing here?! what are you DOING here?!?”  

Great start to my 30th year.   Donovan will be one.  Both my parents are here to celebrate both our birthdays.  I’m getting a massage.  Grant is taking me out to dinner while my parents baby-sit. 

This might be the beginning of a wonderful decade!  Dirty 30, here I come!!

