It’s been a while since I’ve done a substantial post and I feel that so much has happened these last few weeks.  Donovan is getting his second tooth:

Can you see them there on the bottom? Teething is going ok for the most part, I think.  He’s not eating as much as he used to during the day (at daycare) and he seems to be more sleepy than usual at times, but otherwise he’s the same happy baby.  We’re trying to introduce solids to him (still!) but what can I say? The kid loves the breast!  We’ve tried rice cereal, bananas, appplesauce, and sweet potatoes and all have pretty much gotten the same reaction from him: “Oooh! What’s that? I want it! Eeew! What is this you just put in my mouth?!?”  That’s what his face tells me.  I plan on breastfeeding until he’s 1, unless he decides to wean himself sooner. 

And sometimes dad’s head is just what he wants!

We also took our first plane ride with our little man.  We went to Michigan for a long weekend to visit Grant’s family and go to a Notre Dame football game.  I’ve always wanted to go to a ND game and I’m glad I got to cross it off my list!  They were playing Western Michigan, Grant’s alma matter, and we got tickets from a friend of Grant’s who still works at WMU.  I was a little nervous about the trip: flying for the first time with Donovan, leaving him for an entire day for the first time at a place he wasn’t familiar with and with people he’d never met.  But everything was perfect!  Donovan did well on the plane, with the exception of being a little ansty and not wanting to be held the whole time–luckily the flights weren’t longer than 2 hrs. 

Mmmm… Starbucks Pikes Place Roast…… (don’t worry, that’s empty)….. 

The funniest part of the flight was on our way to Michigan—Donovan is very social and loves to smile and “talk” (ie: shout) at people.  At one point, a woman was asleep in the aisle across from us and Donovan let out this screaching yell and scared her to death.  The way she woke up, it looked like she thought the plane was going down!  I was trying to hide my uncontrollable bout of laughter behind my son, hoping she wouldn’t see me.  I don’t think she did.  Man, that was funny.

When we got to Grant’s parent’s house, Donovan felt right at home right away (pictures of that will be coming in a future post). This made things so much easier to leave him the next day to go to the football game–which was awesome, by the way.  I love all the traditions that they have–the team going to mass before the game then walking through campus to the stadium, the tailgating, the band playing America the Beautiful before the national anthem—it’s all pretty cool.

Our seats were great, the weather was perfect and we had a nice time, just the two of us.  But we were anxious to get back to Donovan once the game was over.  We high-tailed it to the car and got home before he was asleep.  We both missed him so much, but he had a great time with his cousins and grandparents. 

Also, basketball season is upon us!  Grant is back in the grind of working some late nights and traveling will be coming soon.  It’s time to get used to a whole ‘nother lifestyle with him in season.  Thankfully, I have my partner in crime, Vivian and her baby Cairo to hang out with while our guys are out of town.  And Cairo and Donovan are getting along very well!

One other note: Halloween is coming up.  I’ve ordered Donovan’s costume online and I’m still waiting for it to show up in the mail—yikes!!! Cutting it close!  I hope it shows up by tomorrow so he can wear it to school on Friday with the other kids.  What will he be?  You’ll have to wait and see!

