On Sunday, I had my first baby shower!  Allison, who has become a dear friend since we moved to Vermont, has been wanting to throw us one since we found we were having a baby.  And it’s not just my first baby shower because this is my first baby, but it’s the first shower out of two for this baby.  The leader of my “care group” at church is throwing me one next weekend. Woo hoo!  What a loved baby already! 

The shower Allison threw for us was co-ed.  I decided early on that this is what I wanted to do–I wanted Grant to be a part of the celebration (it’s his baby, too!!), and since the majority of our friends here are married, husbands were more than welcome to join the festivities!  Plus my boss, Jon, mentioned early on that he wanted to come to my baby shower.  This only reaffirmed what a wonderful idea it was to have a co-ed baby shower.  Allison went all out:

Mmmm… the inside of the cake had a raspberry and cream filling.  YUM!

Me and Allison.  Can you tell I’m even pregnant in this picture?  It looks hard to tell because of the angle I’m standing at.  Funny story about that shirt–I wanted to buy something to wear for this occasion and every maternity section/maternity store didn’t have anything I wanted.  So I ventured into Maurice’s.  Do you have that store where you are?  It has clothes you could wear to work or out to the club and is generally targeted towards those in their late teens to late twenties.  Walking inside I realized two things: 1) I’m almost getting too old to shop here; and 2) I’m probably too pregnant to fit into any of their clothes.  But I was determined to find at least a cute shirt that I could stretch over my ever-growing belly. Feeling so self-conscious as I searched, I found that shirt with the flower that covers half my belly.  I loved it!  And who knows, maybe I can wear it post-baby too.  Ok, back to shower stuff….

I don’t have a lot of pictures right now of the actual festivities–once I started opening gifts, Allison started taking pictures with her camera, so I have to wait for her to send me her photos.  So there will be another post regarding this shower at a later date.  But for now, guests:

Sue and Jill–coworkers of mine

Ha ha ha!  I don’t know what’s happening in this picture, but it looks pretty funny.  These folks (Chris, Steve, Sue, Heidi) are all neighbors of Allison’s whom we’ve gotten to know over the years.  I think we met them 2 years ago when we started going to their annual neighborhood block party.  We’ve been adopted into their neighborhood. Lol. 

Me and Sue.  Sue with her usual cocktail, and me with some yummy punch Allison made.  Of course, all drinks had to be served in sippy cups!  There were more guests there, but I didn’t get pictures of them… I hope Allison did!

We ate, opened presents and played games.  It was a great time!  One of the best things was walking in to Allison’s house when we first got there and seeing a corner full of presents.  Being the only guests there, I said, “geez, who are all of those from?!”  She said, “your friends and family from Oregon.”  I was so surprised!  One of the (many) gifts we got from Amber was this:

Isn’t it awesome?! And this is just part of it. The patches go from green to yellow and it’s great!! If you check out Amber’s blog, she tells more about all the hard work she put into making this lovely quilt.  And if you look closely at the bottom of the picture, you can see the sheets that we got as a gift also.  Here is a shot of the blanket that goes with it, which will get hung on the wall:

And that monkey hanging on the closet door?  We found it at a store we were registering at.  We didn’t buy it at the time, because we were tasked with JUST registering and not buying (so hard to do, by the way).  Well, I came home from work the other day and it was hanging there–Thanks, Grant Wilson!

I’ve probably said it before, but I’ll say it again: I don’t know why, but I’m obsessed with monkeys for this baby! I think it started with wanting to do an animal or jungle theme for the nursery and it sort of manifested itself into just monkeys.  A monkey for my little monkey!

More about this shower later (I need Allison’s pictures!!!)

