Friday was the last day with my ’93 Honda Accord.  A sad day, but also a happy one because I got to pick up my new car!  I’ve been driving my Accord for almost 10 years (which I can’t believe–has it really been that long?!  Apparently…). Recently, my Accord has seen some rough days but all in all, it has served me well and 98% of the time got me to where I needed to go.

But with the occassional breakdowns and the baby coming soon, we knew it was time for an upgrade. So on Friday, I said hello to my brand new Honda CR-V (color: Opal Sage Metallic).  I’ve been wanting this car for about 2 years and still can’t believe I own one. So of course we’re finding any excuse to take it out for a spin!

But we did have some baby business to take care of: registering! We wanted to register at Target, among a couple other stores, and the closest one is in Plattsburgh, NY (about an hour away).  We’ve never been to Plattsburgh in the 4 yrs we’ve lived here, so going to the new Target was a good enough reason for us! Before we left for our day trip (side note: I think Target and Panera are the only 2 reasons really to get over there) Grant and I had this conversation:

Grant: So I think we’re guna need to take the ferry over. I guess the bridge is out.

Me: Ya, they blew up the bridge last month because it was falling apart. Didn’t you hear about it? It made the national news.

Grant: Are they going to re-build it?

Me: Ya, eventually.

I don’t blame him for not being more up to date on his current events, he’s been so busy with basketball, but it was pretty funny.  Anyways, not only did our CR-V get it’s first trip on a ferry, so did Grant!

They break up the ice in the lake to make a path for the ferries to go to and from New York. It’s pretty cool and only took about 10 minutes to get across. As we passed part of the lake making our way to the ferry, we saw all these crazy people out there ice fishing.  I’m sorry, but I just don’t trust  it no matter how cold and frozen the lake is.  But one thing we saw on the way back that actually looked like fun was something I’ve never seen before. It was like people were wind surfing on top of the ice.  They had these big “kites” and the wind was pulling them around… I think they may have had skis on their feet, but I’m not sure.

Anyway, our trip was a success. We left the house around 9:30 am, made our way over and got registered, went to lunch, went back to target to spend a gift certificate we had, walked around the mall a little, then made our way home–stopping at Costco and the grocery store along the way.  I was exhausted by the time we got home (6:00 pm).  I wanted to lay down so badly because my back was starting to bother me.  It’s beginning to get hard to move around and be on my feet for long periods of time.

All in all, it was a great weekend and I’m happily driving my baby-mobile!

