This Halloween (by the way, when I spell Halloween, I still to this day, have to sing the song I learned in elementary school so I get it right: H-A-double L-O-W double E-N spells Halloween!  Ok, what was I saying?  Oh ya…) this year was the first year in I can’t remember how long that I haven’t wanted to dress up, decorate the house and be sure to be home to hand out candy to the trick-or-treaters.  What’s up with that?  But I DID want to be doing something, and we were fortunate enough to get invited to Allison’s house, where a bunch of the neighbors were coming over to hang out: eat, drink, take the kids trick-or-treating, etc.  So we went over.  The moms took the kids out this year (I guess they alternate every year which parent goes) and I stayed back with the guys, since it was a little chilly out and I wasn’t sure if the rain would start up again.  They were only out for about 45 minutes and they came back with a pretty good stash!

118

119

It was funny to see each kid empty out their bucket or pillow case–they each had their own ritual.  One kid dove right in and just started eating, another took up almost the whole floor to group his together by flavor: putting all the snickers together and all the m&ms together, etc. Then there was Ben, Allison’s son.  He emptied his bag and divided his up by company: Hershey’s, Tootsie, Nestle, etc, then when he was done, he was ready to make a spread sheet to organize how many of each he got.  And he’s…11 yrs old?  My method was always kid #1: Dig right in–snickers and Dots.  Yum!  Then at 8:00, the Oregon game came on.  Most of the parents started taking their kids home and calling it a night, but we stayed to watch Oregon pound USC.  It was great! 

Then on Sunday, I got up and went to church while Grant went to work.  As I was sitting there with my head bowed during the opening prayer, I felt little Jebediah move.  Not just a twitch of a movement, which is all I’ve felt up to this point, but a real kick!  I opened my eyes and stared at my belly thinking “do it again!!!  do it again!!!”  But nothing.  I was sooo happy!  I was on cloud 9 until I got to the basketball game Grant was working–I had to sing the national anthem and I was brought back to “reality.”  Yes, I was nervous, but at the same time I didn’t really care because I felt my baby move that day!  The anthem went fine, then I got to concentrate on watching Grant work (oh ya, and watch some basketball).

120

121

Besides seeing Grant in action (in his cute sweater vest), I forgot how much I love going to basketball games.  I’ve been to a few since we’ve been here, but since Grant wasn’t working it, it wasn’t one we went to all the time.  Plus, he was working women’s hockey, which is in season at the same time.  But now, I’ll be going to all the home games to see Grant at work in his sweater vest… I mean, I’ll be going to all the games to watch the team play 😉  By the way, we won by 50+ points.  Woo hoo!

