Saturday was a great day!  I spent the day doing a little bit of laundry, scrubbing the bathtub (to the point of taking off some of the cocking—oops! Sorry, again, Grant), cooking and baking.  My first attempt at Corn Chowder (Thank you, Paula Dean!) With adding a few extra ingredients the recipe didn’t call for–skim milk, bacon and potatoes (how can you make corn chowder without these?!), and omitting one other (who needs 2–yes TWO!–sticks of butter AND cream?) out came this oh-so delicious soup that I had for lunch that day, and have enough to bring to work for lunch a few days this week!

Blog 200

Yum!  Then, I also made an apple pie for the first time in my life.  And, oooooh did it turn out good!  It was a lot easier than I had imagined it would be in my head.  The tedious part is cutting the apples up, but when you’re sitting at the dining room table with “9 to 5”  on (you know, the movie with Dolly Parton, Jane Fonda, and Lilly Tomlin), it makes it a bit more fun. The only thing I was missing in the end was vanilla ice cream to go with it!  Next time.  And yes, there will be a next time!

Blog 201

For dinner, I made loaded baked potato soup (I think that’s what it’s called).  I randomly found this recipe on foodnetwork.com and it sounded so good I had to try it.  All you have to do is cook some bacon (mmmm, bacon) and drain all but 1 tablespoon of the drippings.  Set the bacon aside.  In the drippings you cook onion and garlic, add 1 russet potato and 2 red potatoes, red wine vinegar and 8 cups of chicken broth.  Let that cook until the potatoes are tender and it’s basically done.  To “load it up” you can scoop some soup into a oven safe bowl, top with a slice of bread, cheddar cheese and crumble up some of your cooked bacon on top of that, slide it in the oven for 5 min or so, then top with sour cream right before serving.  I made Grant’s bowl without the bread because it does get soggy sitting in the soup while in the oven.  So next time, I will just top the soup with the cheese and bacon and put it in the oven, then serve the bread separately on the side, strictly for dunking.  In the end, it really doesn’t look like much, but it is so good.  Grant loved it and said he could eat it over and over again.  Note to self: I think we’ve found another good soup to make this winter!  It was so easy to make, if you want the exact recipe let me know and I will email it to you.  At the end of the day, I was tired, but felt very accomplished.  Grant was very thankful for all of my cooking and said I was doing a good job at “being motherly.”  Lol, so cute.  Thanks, Grant.

Being motherly? Maybe.  Nesting? Possibly.  Me, pregnant?  Definitely!!

Blog 8wks

Yup!  Our little one is due April 6th and I’m starting my second trimester, so we’re finally telling people.  We even kept the news from our families (moms and dads included) for 12 weeks!!!  The hardest, but most wonderful secret I’ve ever had to keep.

Blog 12 wks

This ultrasound was done at 12 weeks (sorry it’s blurry, but I had to take a picture of the picture because our scanner is not working).  Yes, I’m feeling good now.  Had you asked me about a month ago, I would’ve said I was tired and nauseous all the time.  No, we are not finding out the sex of the baby–there are so few surprises in life anymore!  Plus, I’ve heard stories of people getting told by their doctors they were having one thing then the baby was born the other.  We are so excited for this next chapter of our lives and couldn’t be happier. This was a reason I wasn’t posting as much in the last few months because really, this was the only thing on my mind… so prepare for more pregnancy blogs!

