On Sunday, Grant and I had the pleasure of babysitting Kijana for the day.  Julie went on a business trip and took Jada with her, and Kwame had an away soccer game.  We ate lunch…

Blog 198

Then we played a couple games.  Since the weather was nice, Kijana and I went to the park that is around the corner from our house.  There was hardly anyone there when we got there, but slowly, people started coming with their kids.  Kijana and I were playing hide and seek and one other kid decided he wanted to play too.  As I was counting for them to hide, I was peeking (of course) so that I could keep my eye on Kijana.  Out of the corner of my eye, I saw the direction the other kid went, but didn’t see where he hid.  I found Kijana, then we went looking for the other kid.  Ummm…. where did he go?  He wasn’t where I thought he would be.  Soon his mom, who wasn’t paying attention to him either, started asking where he was.  I said “we were playing hide and seek, but now I can’t find him.”  She started yelling out his name, but not actually walking around looking for him.  Kijana and I were actually searching everywhere, when suddenly, the kid pops out of the porta-potty.  Nice hiding place, kid.

When we got back to the house, we decided to watch a movie and make popcorn

Blog 199

But then Grant showed Kijana the wonderfulness that is “Duck Tales,” Gummy Bears,” and “Rescue Rangers.”  Did you know these are all on YouTube?  I ended up falling asleep while watching our cartoons, only to wake up to see Kijana asleep with the computer on his lap and his head on Grant’s shoulder, and Grant asleep with his head against Kijana’s.  MAN, I WISH I HAD MY CAMERA!!!  It was so cute because they were knocked out!  Soon, they both woke up and we played until dinner.  Playing consisted of Kijana seeing how fast he can walk on our treadmill and making music with my keyboard.  I wish I had some stuff he could have colored with or stuff for us to do crafts or something, but since we don’t have any kids, we don’t have any of that stuff at our house.  Oh well.  Dinner was tacos and rice.

“Kijana, does your mom put anything on your rice for you?”

“Yes, she puts brown sauce on it.”

Hmmm…brown sauce…???  “Brown sauce?”

“Ya.”

What kind of brown sauce do we have that this kid would eat?  Oooh, we have teriyaki sauce…I’ll put that on there.  “Here, taste this and let me know what you think.”

“Mmmm, it’s good, but it needs a lot more on it.”

Alrighty!  Problem solved!  (Side note: Julie, I’m not sure if teriyaki is the brown sauce to which he was referring, but he ate it!)

Kwame came to pick him up shortly after we finished eating, and Kijana was very excited to see him!  I’d say the day was a success!

