This weekend was kind of a crazy one. Our church choir put on a concert of Handel’s Messiah, which is a great piece of music, and I took part in it.  We had a dress rehearsal Friday night from 7-9 (not exactly my idea of a great Friday night), then another rehearsal at 9-11 the next morning. I was able to go home and take a nap before I had to be at campus at 2:45 to sing the national anthem for the women’s lacrosse game.  Grant and I stayed for the first half to watch and talk to Allison, who was working the game. Then we went home, Grant was the best and made dinner (fried catfish! yum!) before I had to go to church for our first performance of Messiah.  In addition to Grant coming, of course, Allison and the Lloyds came.  After what I thought was a pretty good performance, Grant and I went over to have dessert with the Lloyds.  Just what I needed! Ice cream for my tired vocal chords!!  While we were at their house, I had to snap a picture of Jada and her awesomely curly hair!

blog-084

Then on Sunday, Grant and I went to the Easter service in the morning at church. We came home and started cooking because the Lloyds were coming over for dinner around 2:00.  We all ended up eating shrimp, artichokes, bbq chicken and salmon, deviled eggs, strawberry and spinach salad, and Grant made his mom’s dressing.  We basically pigged out for a couple of hours before I had to go back to church for the 6pm performance.  I honestly didn’t feel like going because I was in a bit of a food fog, but I think that performance was better than the night before.  Maybe it was because of singing the Hallelujah Chorus on Easter Sunday…it was pretty powerful.

So basically I sang all weekend.  It was exhausting! Especially since I didn’t get to sleep in at all…and for those of you who know me know that I like to sleep.  There is nothing like sleeping in on a Saturday, getting a good work out in and having my big cup of coffee while reading the newspaper.  Then I’m ready for whatever comes next. I love it!  But the good thing is, Lord willing, I will be able to do all of those things next weekend!

