A lot of stuff happened lately…first off, the snow update. The storm wasn’t so bad; we got about a foot, but we survived.
blog-036

It was all very pretty, really
blog-035

And I became an aunt once again! Peggy gave birth to Avalee Apryl Turner on Friday afternoon. I may be a little biased, but isn’t she adorable!?!?!?
leelee3

leelee21

And big brother Zavion was taking pictures of her too…

leelee11

How cute is that?!  Also, this weekend, while Grant was at work yesterday, I had an urge to bake something.  I wanted to do cookies, but we were out of milk and there was no way I was going to the store. But thanks to Better Homes & Gardens, I found a recipe for a snickerdoodle pie. Ummm….yummm!!! Hello!? A snickerdoodle pie?! I love snickerdoodle cookies. My mom used to always make them this time of year, and I love pie. So whoever decided to combine the two is a genious! It’s really more like a cake filling in a pie crust, with all the yumminess of snickerdoodle cookies mixed in. It is so good! And yes, I did need milk (1/2 cup) to make this, but I ended up finding a can of evaporated milk that I never used at thanksgiving, and my handy Betty Crocker cookbook said I could cut it with with water (Grant has actually told me that before, but I didn’t believe him)…so easy fix! I used a 1/4 cup evaporated and 1/4 cup of water to make up for the missing milk.  And I have to say, the pie turned out delicious!!!

blog-039

See, the inside looks like a cake–

blog-033

If you want the recipe, comment and I’ll email it to you.  It’s pretty simple and so good! But before he enjoyed a slice of pie, Grant came home from work and immediately got started on this:

blog-037

He has taken it upon himself to tear down a wall in our basement. It’s not a structural wall and I’m still not sure why it was ever built in the first place. It sections off a large part of the basement, which we have been using for storage the last 2 years we’ve lived there, and I think the previous owners did too. It’s the only unfinished part of the basement. Even the drop ceiling, which we both hate, just stops in mid-air above this section of the room. Which is both wierd and annoying because why they wouldn’t finish the ceiling is beyond me, and now we have to do it! Arg.  But Grant got a good start and I think it’s going to open the basement up a lot more and we will have more options of where to put our huge sectional instead of where it is now (blocking the fireplace so we can watch tv), and also use part of that space for a new laundry room. Our laundry room doubles as a half bath and you can’t even open the dryer door all the way because you hit the toilet. Ugh. So, I’m sure you’ll be seeing more pictures of how this all develops!

blog-0381

And despite the huge mess, Grant was great and had that Kirby out and cleaned up everything when he was done!  Thanks, Grant!

