This weekend was so busy.  And I keep forgetting the adapter cord for the camera to download the pictures! I’ll have to post again, but with pictures. Why am I forgetting it, you may ask…well, honestly, I usually take the time to blog during my lunch hour at work, so I need to bring it with me, which I have forgotten to do these last few days. I had this post all ready to go in my head Sunday night, then I didn’t get myself together enough that night and forgot to bring it with me…plus the batteries in the camera died this weekend, so I have to search the house for more. So this will be a full post, minus the pictures.  Sigh.

But let’s get on with it!  Friday night, Grant and I had our usual ordering Chinese food and lounging on the couch.  A perfect Friday night, if you ask me! We have been watching “The Wire” via Blockbuster. It’s a series that was on HBO for 5 years and is one of the best shows on tv. If you watch it, you’ll LOVE IT. It revolves around the Baltimore police department and the local gangs.  But it’s not your typical bloody, gang show. You really get to know the characters, the good ones and the bad. Season 4 was focused on the kids who work the corners selling drugs and how that plays into their school life, and their home life. It’s an excellent show. You have to see it if you haven’t.

Saturday, Grant had to work hockey practice and I sang the national anthem at the men’s soccer game! Scary? Yes. Why? I haven’t done that since high school. Will I do it again? Of course! I’ve given my name to the woman that handles the marketing for athletics and they will sign me up for games throughout this and next semester. So that pretty much took up my whole afternoon. Then we had Allison and her family over to watch the USC/Oregon game. We snacked, had a couple beers, and once USC was up 34-10 we called it a night.

Sunday, we went to church in the morning, then Grant went to hockey and I went to a baby shower of some folks we’ve met somewhat recently.  A nice couple, Rashad and Trish, who are expecting their first baby Oct 16th. It was fun to meet some new people and see the cute stuff they got!!  I’ll post those pictures soon. Then that night the women’s hockey team had their first home game! It was fun, even though they lost 1-0. Kwame and Kijana were there, Jon Porter ended up coming, and I sat next to my usual hockey girls, Libby and Barb. Libby is married to the athletic director at UVM and Barb is her friend and also married to the coach of the women’s hockey team.  It was a good crowd!

So that was my busy weekend.  So far this week has been busy with work and catching up on some tivo this week.  And since I missed hilarious hump day yesterday, here is a little something to commemorate our national anthem. (Amber, the video you sent me will have to be saved for next week). Enjoy!

